Life

Forgive Yourself and You’ll Learn How to Cook

Forgive Yourself and You’ll Learn How to Cook
I am a recovering perfectionist. I used to think being a perfectionist was a good thing. But is it? Perfectionism was keeping me from doing things. I would often get stressed if my name was going to be put on something. When I was a student, I would even purposefully put off doing things because I knew that if I failed, I could always blame my lack of time. “Of course my term paper wasn’t perfect. I started it last night.”

When I first began making deserts, I would always carry my perfectionism into the kitchen. Everything had to be perfect because anything that I made, created or organized had to be perfect, which is fine if you have all the time in the world. But as our family grew, two handsome boys made the hands on the clock spin out of control.

Now I was faced with a choice: Stop cooking because I can’t make a perfect French Charlotte cake in twenty minutes or cook with creativity and allow myself to make a mistake.

When you want to create a piece of art, no matter if it is a meal, painting or a song, you have to be brave. To be brave, you can’t be hard on yourself. I’ve made a lot of good meals and some just barely edible. But since becoming braver, I’ve learned to enjoy the process more. As a result, the food comes out better.

Be confident and forgive yourself. Don’t be afraid to be judged by others and I’m sure your friends appreciate YOU more than your final product.

Leave a Reply

